Skip to main content
Iowa High School

Here is our Twitter Feed:

Visitors since 6/30/2008


2006 Hall of Fame

Jim Blythe - Indianola
David Hoeksema - Davenport Central
Tom Mullen - Davenport Central
Dan Pomeroy - Coon Rapids
William Wieland - Carroll Kuemper
John Zahn - Webster City

Head Coach Bret Hoyer poses with Cedar Rapids Kennedy Baseball Boosters Tom Polehna and Leroy Kremer after the Kennedy field was named 2006 Field of the Year in Iowa by the IHSBCA.

Executive Secretary Pinky Primrose presents retired Colonel Neil Kacena with the 2006 Harold “Pinky” Primrose Award.  

Class 4A District Coaches of the Year for 2006 included, Tim O’Neill - WDM Dowling, Jay Ryan - Davenport Central, Ryan Cooley - WDM Valley, Bret Hoyer - Cedar Rapids Kennedy and Lee Toole of Council Bluffs Lewis Central.  

Class 2A District Coaches of the Year for 2006 included, Dave Middleton - North Polk, William Azinger - Logan Magnolia, Matt DenHartog - Boyden-Hull and Randy Chamberlin of Center Point-Urbana. 

Dick Wagner - Burlington

50-Year Longevity Award

2006 Coach of the Year District Winners

        SE      Kevin Kelderman - North Mahaska
        NE      John Beguhn - Alburnett
        Central Geoff Lane - Grandview Park Baptist
        NW      Mike Elsbecker - Sentral Fenton
**     SW      Steve Westphal - Lenox

        SE      Billy Argo - Davenport Assumption
        NE      Randy Chamberlin - Center Point-Urbana
**     Central Dave Middleton - North Polk
        NW      Matt DenHartog - Boyden-Hull
        SW      William Azinger - Logan Magnolia

**     West    Andy VanFossan - Cherokee  Washington
        SE      Steve Mott - Knoxville
        NE      Rick Gabel - Charles City
        Central J.R. Gebhart - Saydel

        West    Lee Toole - Council Bluffs Lewis Central
        SE      Jay Ryan - Davenport Central
        NE      Bret Hoyer - Cedar Rapids Kennedy
        SCentral        Tim O’Neill - West DesMoines Dowling
**     NCentral        Ryan Cooley - West DesMoines Valley

2-year College COY:  Rick Pederson -Iowa Central CC
4-year College COY:  Joel Holst - Wartburg College

Assistant Coach of the Year Nominees and Winners
NE:             Mike Shipley, Jay Reeder, Troy Smock
West:          Steve Sonka, Jacob Hedger, Scot Surprenant
Central:       George Callsen, Jake Randall, David Schmit
SE:             Ed Sawvell, Andy Greiner, Joe Vaccaro

IHSBCA District Diamonds of the Year
NE:             Cedar Rapids Kennedy
West:   Council Bluffs Lewis Central
Central:        West DesMoines Dowling
SE:             Davenport Central

IHSBCA State Diamond of the Year:   Cedar Rapids Kennedy

All District Umpire Nominees, All District Umpires and Umpire of the Year
**      Chris Oberbroeckling - Marion - Umpire of Year

NE:             Chris Oberbroeckling, Bob Jacobson, Adam Riley
West:          Cory Spangler, Tod Broman, Mark Harris
Central:       Joe Nelson, John Bartolo, Ken Robbins
SE:             Mike Droll, Dave Bohnenkamp, Jeff Frese

Dave Harty Umpire Newcomer of Year:      Larry Jacobus - Des Moines

Class 1A District Coaches of the year for 2006 included, Kevin Kelderman - North Mahaska, John Beguhn - Alburnett, Geoff Lane - Grandview Park Baptist and Steve Westphal of Lenox.

Larry Peterson - Sioux Rapids

45-Year Longevity Award

Sign Guest Book  View Guest Book 
IHSBCA - Iowa Baseball Coaches

Lee Toole
301 Wildwood Dr
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Cell:  402-689-8271
FAX: 712-366-8324 / 712-366-8340


powered by:
   Company Studio