Skip to main content
Iowa High School

Here is our Twitter Feed:

Visitors since 6/30/2008


2001 Hall of Fame Class #33   Honored at 2001 Clinic

Robert Benedict - Pomeroy
Dave Broders - Bellevue
Ed Merritt - Pleasant Valley
Mike Pauly - Winterset

Class 4A District Coaches of the Year for 2001 included, front row:  Bret Hoyer - CR Kennedy, Eddie Mauro - WDM Dowling, back row:  Tom Souhrada - Davenport West and Lee Toole of Council Bluffs Lewis Central. 

2-Year College Coach of the Year - 2001

Rick Sandquist - Iowa Central CC

4-Year College Coach of the Year - 2001

Rick Heller - University of Northern Iowa

All District Umpire Winners for 2001 included, Troy Plummer - Des Moines and Jeff Frese of Norway.

2001 Award Winners — Honored at 2002 Clinic

        SE      Tim Navara - Lone Tree
        NE      Tony Adams - Mason City Newman
        Central Matt Zoske - North Tama
 **     SW      Bill Wuebker - Granville Spalding

        SE      Rick Stout - West Branch
        NE      Tom Jenk, Jr - Dyersville Beckman
        Central Bruce Rholl - Eagle Grove
**      SW      Matt Brennan - Emmetsburg

**      West    Tim O’Neill - Sioux City Heelan
        SE      Bill Huisman - Centerville
        NE      Mike Morrison - West Delaware
        Central Al Lammers - Norwalk

        West    Lee Toole - Council Bluffs Lewis Central
        SE      Tom Souhrada - Davenport West
        NE      Bret Hoyer - Cedar Rapids Kennedy
**      Central Eddie Mauro - WDM Dowling

2-year College COY:  Rick Sandquist - Iowa Central CC
4-year College COY:  Rick Heller - Northern Iowa University

Assistant Coach of the Year Nominees and Winners
NE:             Steve Hilby, Chris Powers, Chad Scherbring
West:          Chris Bork, Joe Havenhill, Steve Sonka
Central:       Jeff Hoogensen, Steve Mott, Kyle Palmer
SE:             Tony Endress, Brent Broeker, Todd Huckabone

All District Umpire Nominees, All District Umpires and Umpire of the Year
**      Paul Keitel - DeWitt - Umpire of Year

NE:            Jeff Frese, Jack Lynch, Scott Sernett
West:         Pete Hansen, Rich Choponis, Bob Van Es
Central:      Troy Plummer, Ken Hutcheson, Ken Robbins
SE:             Paul Keitel, Pat Pacha, Eric Thornton

Outgoing 2001 IHSBCA President Tom Souhrada receives his ceremonial rock from incoming President Charlie Stumpff of Iowa City West. 

Class 1A District Coaches of the Year for 2001 included, Matt Zoske - North Tama, Tim Navara - Lone Tree, Tony Adams - Mason City Newman and Bill Wuebker of Granville Spalding.

Major Award Winners for 2001 included Dr. Ralph Plagman - Cedar Rapids Washington (Bill and Sherry Freese Contributor Award), Bob Kazimour - Cedar Rapids (Harold “Pinky” Primrose Award) and Boyd Murray - University of Iowa (Cap Timm President’s Award.)

Sign Guest Book  View Guest Book 
IHSBCA - Iowa Baseball Coaches

Lee Toole
301 Wildwood Dr
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Cell:  402-689-8271
FAX: 712-366-8324 / 712-366-8340


powered by:
   Company Studio