Skip to main content
Iowa High School

Here is our Twitter Feed:

Visitors since 6/30/2008

 Pinky Primrose and Duane Acker from Atlantic area who received the Primrose Award in 1998.  He was president of Kansas State University 1975-1986; and then served as administrator of the International Cooperation and Development and Foreign Agricultural Service from 1990-1993 and then as Assistant Secretary of  Department of Agriculture in D.C.  with Presidents Reagan and Bush. He has written books and holds a B.S., M.S. and Ph.d in animal husbandry. 

1998 Hall of Fame Inductee John Sirianni displays his plaque with friends and family.

District Umpire winners for 1998 included, Wayne Wuebker, Troy Plummer, Mike Droll and Jack Lynch.

SW District 1A Coach of the Year 1998

John Waddle - Coon Rapids-Bayard

Class 4A District Coaches of the Year for 1998 included, Steve Shanks - Sioux City East, Kyle Black - DM Lincoln, Dirk Dunbar - CR Jefferson and Jay Fitzgerald of Bettendorf. 

1998 Hall of Fame Class #30

Ed Feyen - Dubuque Wahlert
Steve Reinert - Durant
Jerry Roling - Cascade
John Siriani - Simpson College
Jack Lynch - Lawler

1998 Coach of the Year Nominees

        NW      Tom Elsbecker - North Kossuth
        SE      William Walters - Burlington Notre Dame
**     NE      Gary Nyhus - Mason City Newman
        Central Bruce Wall - Northeast Hamilton
        SW      John Waddle - Coon Rapids

        NW      Eugene Meister / Mike Matuska - Algona Garrigan
        SE      Jeff Schweibert - Mount Vernon
        NE      Dan Hovden - North Fayette
**    Central Dave Collison - Iowa Falls
        SW      Trace Petersen - Panora

        West    Andy McGaffin - Spencer
        SE      Matt Rasmusson - Washington
**    NE      Jim Struve - Vinton-Shellsburg
        Central Jim Henrich - Jefferson-Scranton

        West    Steve Shanks - Sioux City East
        SE      Jay Fitzgerald - Bettendorf
        NE      Dirk Dunbar  - Cedar Rapids Jefferson
**      Central Kyle Black - Des Moines Lincoln

2-year College COY:  Cam Walker - Indian Hills CC
4-year College COY:  Joel Holst - Wartburg College

Assistant Coach of the Year Nominees and Winners
NE:             Tony Adams, Jim Duthie, Steve Hilby
West:   Mark Sawhill, Joe Havenhill, Dean Harpenau
Central:        Glenn Smith, Jack Cottrell, Tom Ulses
SE:             Tim Gall, Shawn Kreman, Joe Vaccaro

All District Umpire Nominees, All District Umpires and Umpire of the Year
**      Mike Droll - Tipton - Umpire of Year

NE:           Jack Lynch, Chris Oberbroeckling, Dennis Schroeder
West:        Wayne Wuebker, Tim Hughes, Joe Nelson
Central:     Troy Plummer, Larry Barr, Rob Stiles
SE:            Mike Droll, Paul Keitel, Eric Thornton

State Umpire and Coaches for 1998 included Umpire Mike Droll - Tipton, Class 3A Jim Struve - Vinton, Class 4A Kyle Black - DM Lincoln, Class 1A Gary Nyhus - Mason City Newman and Class 2A Dave Collison of Iowa Falls.

Class 3A District Coaches of the Year for 1998 included, Jim Struve - Vinton and Andy McGaffin of Spencer.

Class 2A District Coaches of the Year for 1998 included, Eugene Meister - Algona Garrigan, Dave Collison - Iowa Falls and Dan Hovden of North Fayette.

Sign Guest Book  View Guest Book 
IHSBCA - Iowa Baseball Coaches

Lee Toole
301 Wildwood Dr
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Cell:  402-689-8271
FAX: 712-366-8324 / 712-366-8340


powered by:
   Company Studio