Skip to main content
Iowa High School

Here is our Twitter Feed:

Visitors since 6/30/2008


1997 Hall of Fame Class #29

Fr. Craig Collison - Carroll
Loren “Pee Wee” Day - Mason City
Wendell Hill - Bettendorf
Gary Nyhus - Mason City
John Smith - DMACC Boone
Dave Welter - Cedar Falls

Hall of Famer Wendell Hill of Bettendorf (far right) is photographed with members of his family at the 1997 Awards Banquet.

Pinky Primrose presents Iowa Governor Terry Brandstad with the Harold “Pinky” Primrose Award in 1997.

Pinky Primrose presents University of Iowa Athletic Director Bob Bowlsby with the 1997 Cap Timm President’s Award.  

1997 Award Winners — Honored at 1998 Clinic

**     NW      Tom Elsbecker - North Kossuth
        SE        William Walters - Burlington Notre Dame
        NE       Tom Elsbecker - North Kossuth
        Central Curt Grimm - Hubbard-Radcliffe
        SW      John Waddle - Coon Rapids
        NW       Jeff Scharn - Sioux Central
**     SE        Jeff Schweibert - Mount Vernon
        NE        Gary Nyhus - Mason City Newman
        Central  Tim Harvey - Bondurant-Farrar
        SW        Trace Petersen -Panora
**    West     Andy McGaffin - Spencer
        SE        Jim Murphy - Davenport Assumption
        NE        Howard Conrad - Benton-Norway
        Central  Jim Gebhart - Saydel
         West     Steve Shanks - Sioux City East
**      SE        Brad Rose - Ottumwa
         NE        Charles Stumpff - Iowa City West
         Central  Jim Mahoney - Johnston

2-year College Coach of the Year: 
Rick Sandquist - Iowa Central CC
4-year College Coach of the Year: 
Dave Schrage - University of Northern Iowa

Assistant Coach of the Year Nominees and Winners
NE:          Lee Kolker, Cory Coates, Pat Weber
West:       John Rock, Brent Hansen, Dean Harpenau
Central:    Jeff Hoogensen, Jack Cottrell, Matt Farup
SE:           Scott Beatty, Tim Gall, Dave Chenoweth

All District Umpire Nominees, All District Umpires and Umpire of the Year
**      Brent Prange - Des Moines - Umpire of the Year

NE:           Bill Boyd, Tim Dunphy, Joel Hibbs
West:        Mark Paulsen, Lewie Curtis, Wayne Wuebker
Central:     Brent Prange, Jay Flora, Mike Niece
SE:           Steve Mason, Brad Geisking, Benny Rios

Governor Terry Brandstad presents John Smith of Boone with his 1997 Hall of Fame plaque. 

Governor Terry Brandstad presents Dave Welter of Cedar Falls with his 1997 Hall of Fame plaque.

Small West All Star Team

Small East All Star Team

Large West All Star Team

Large East All Star Team

Sign Guest Book  View Guest Book 
IHSBCA - Iowa Baseball Coaches

Lee Toole
301 Wildwood Dr
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Cell:  402-689-8271
FAX: 712-366-8324 / 712-366-8340


powered by:
   Company Studio