Skip to main content
Iowa High School

Here is our Twitter Feed:

Visitors since 6/30/2008


1990 Hall of Fame Class #22

 The 1990 IHSBCA Hall of Fame Class included Jim Mahoney-Johnston, Jerry Eimers-Dike, James McElliott-Ryan, Eddie Watt-Iowa City, Joe Kenney-Cedar Rapids and Marvin Bell of VanHorne. 

1990 Award Winners — Honored at 1991 Clinic

        NW      Ken Bahrke - Sioux Center
        SE      Don Taylor - West Branch
**      NE      Gary Nyhus - Mason City Newman
        Central Steve Roskens - Ackley-Geneva
        SW      None Awarded

**      West    Vic Belger - Creston
        SE      Bill Huisman - Centerville
        NE      Jerry Roling - Cascade
        Central   Steve Olberding - Ballard-Huxley
        SW      None Awarded

        West    Bill Wieland - Carroll Kuemper
        SE      Bob Leech - Muscatine
**      NE      Dennis Olejniczak - Decorah
        Central Denny Barton - Urbandale
        SW      None Awarded

2-year College Coach of the Year:
Nick Zumsande - Muscatine CC

4-year College Coach of the Year: 
Duane Banks -University of Iowa

All District Umpire Nominees, All District Umpires and Umpire of the Year
**      Dan Pomeroy - Coon Rapids  - Umpire of Year
NE:             Steve McGraw, Jack Lynch, Blair Glesson
NW:             Roger “Smokey” Barr, Marlow Van Ginkel, Martin Wierda
Central:        Gary Paulsen, Mike Niece, Brent Prange
SE:             Bob Burns, Larry Davis, Paul Keitel
SW:             Dan Pomeroy, Larry Barr, Jack Anderson

Umpire Newcomer of Year: 
Blair Gleason-Cascade & Mike Niece-Alden

Coaches of the Year in 1990 included Nick Zumzande - Muscatine CC, Dennis Olejniczak - Decorah, Gary Nyhus - Mason City Newman and Vic Belger of Creston. 

Longevity Award winners in 1990 included Hall of Famers Joe Kenney - Cedar Rapids Jefferson, Pinky Primrose - Cedar Rapids Washington and Bill Freese of Davenport Central.

1990 Class 3A District Coaches of the year included, Vic Belger - Creston, Jerry Roling - Cascade, Merle Olberding - Ballard-Huxley and Bill Huisman - Centerville. 

1990 Class 1A+2A District Coaches of the Year included Don Taylor - West Branch, Gary Nyhus - Mason City Newman, Ken Bahrke - Sioux Center and Steven Roskens of Ackley Geneva.

1990 Class 4A District Coaches of the Year included Denny Barton - Urbandale, Dennis Olejniczak - Decorah and Bill Wieland of Carroll Kuemper. 

Award winning umpires in 1990 included, SE District Winner Bob Burns, State Umpire of the Year Dan Pomeroy and Central District Winner Gary Paulsen.

Unknown District winner with 1990 Class 4A Coach of the Year Dennis Olejniczak of Decorah.

Sign Guest Book  View Guest Book 
IHSBCA - Iowa Baseball Coaches

Lee Toole
301 Wildwood Dr
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Cell:  402-689-8271
FAX: 712-366-8324 / 712-366-8340


powered by:
   Company Studio